Public Affairs Committee

The Public Affairs Committee makes policy recommendations to the GBA board of directors on legislative and regulatory issues and suggests specific legislation the association should have introduced in both the Georgia General Assembly and the U.S. Congress.  The committee coordinates the Contact Banker Program; participates as hosts at the annual GBA Legislative Reception held in honor of the General Assembly; and attends the annual Washington Legislative Visit. Members of the committee also serve on the BankPAC teams for their respective GBA groups. The GBA chairman-elect automatically chairs the committee.
Contact Label
Group 2
Mr. E. J. Vann, IV
Planters and Citizens Bank
P.O. Box 449
Camilla, GA 31730-0449
(229) 336-1079
Group 3
Mr. Richard A. Whaley
The Citizens Bank of Americus
P.O. Box 1128
Americus, GA 31709
(229) 928-6475
Group 4
Mr. John P. Barker, III
First Bank of Pike
P.O. Box 348
Molena, GA 30258-0348
(770) 884-5111
Group 5
Mr. Kirby A. Thompson
SunTrust Bank
1155 Peachtree Street, NE
Suite 300
MC 041
Atlanta, GA 30309
(404) 815-0724
Group 6
Mr. Charles R. Haley
The Peoples Bank
PO Box 4250
Eatonton, GA 31024-4250
(706) 485-8542
Group 9
Mr. William S. Wade
Southern Bank & Trust
81 Crown Mountain Place A100
Dahlonega, GA 30533
(678) 776-5395
At Large
Mr. William Franklin Griffin, Jr.
Flint Community Bank
P. O. Box 70878
Albany, GA 31708
(229) 903-3355
At Large
Mr. Ramon Looby
Bank of America
1455 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 870-3788
At Large
Mr. Richard J. Mahler
JPMorgan Chase & Company
113 East College Avenue
Floor 02
Tallahassee, FL 32301
(850) 728-4047
At Large
Mr. Thomas Ruebel
Fifth Third Bank
21 E. State Street, 8th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
(614) 499-1261
At Large
Mr. David K. Voyles
Pinnacle Bank
884 Elbert Street
Elberton, GA 30635
(706) 425-2264
At Large
Mr. James E. Wilson
Renasant Bank
721 N Westover Blvd
Albany, GA 31707-1401
(229) 878-2080